BCCI rounds up as many as 30 suspects | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 02, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BCCI rounds up as many as 30 suspects

india Updated: Apr 06, 2009 00:27 IST
G. Krishnan

The BCCI has identified 30 bowlers with suspect action in the 2008-09 domestic season. The number of suspects has risen by ten from the last season.

Quite surprisingly, some of these bowlers, like the former India off spinner Sarandeep Singh, have been regulars in the domestic circuit for many years. Former India captain and Test umpire S Venkataraghavan, who's now the director of the BCCI's Umpires Committee, went through the video footage of their action and found their action doubtful.

Of the 30 suspects, seven have been rounded-up for the second successive year. This list includes Gujarat off-spinner Mohnish Parmar, former India off-spinner Sarandeep Singh, and Baroda's prolific left-arm spinner Rajesh Pawar.

The other four are Ankur Kakkar, Charanjit Singh (both Punjab), Jayanta Debnath (Tripura) and Wahid Sayyed (Maharashtra). The most surprise entrant in this list is Uttar Pradesh and Central Zone captain Md Kaif. The former India batsman, who bowls part-time off-spin, raised eyebrows when he rolled over his arm during the Karnataka-Uttar Pradesh Ranji Trophy match.

The full list (2008-09): Amit Singh (Gujarat), Charanjit Singh (Punjab), Jayanta Debnath (Tripura), K. Rakesh (Kerala), M. Shakeer (Hyderabad), Manoj Kumar Singh (Jharkhand), Mohammed Aslam (Rajasthan), Md Hashim (Vidarbha), Mohammed Kaif (UP), Mohnish Parmar (Gujarat), Rajesh Pawar (Baroda), Ritam Kundu (Bengal), S. Anish (Kerala), Salim Viragi (Baroda), S Khajuria (J&K), S Debbarma (Tripura U-19), Sarandeep Singh (Himachal), Sarupam Puryakastha (Assam), Sunil Raju (Karnataka), Syed Ali (Hyderabad U-19), Tushar Saha (Tripura), Utkarsh Patel (Baroda), Wahid Sayyed (Maharashtra), Y Nagar (Delhi), Arlen Konwar (Assam), A Kakkar (Punjab), Bikram Chetri (Assam), Kundan Singh (Jharkhand), M Murasingh (Tripura), A Dey (Tripura).