Bell doesn’t toll for Jonny | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 08, 2016-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bell doesn’t toll for Jonny

india Updated: Nov 26, 2012 01:34 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Controversial decisions seem to have become a norm in this series with England batsman Jonny Bairstow, just 4-Test old and looking to establish himself, was distinctly unlucky after being given out on Sunday.

The batsman played forward to Pragyan Ojha and resultant edge flew to Gautam Gambhir, who snapped it up at silly point. The ball appeared to hit the fielder's chest before he completed it and Bairstow walked off without fuss. It was the last ball before lunch.

However, TV replays showed the ball had hit Gambhir's helmet grille before he had it under control. According to the rules of the game, Bairstow cannot be given out. According to Law 32.3 (e), “A fielder catches the ball after it has touched an umpire, another fielder or the other batsman. However, it is not a fair catch if the ball has previously touched a protective helmet worn by a fielder. The ball will then remain in play.”

It is understood that the England camp approached the match referee in a bid to reverse the decision during lunch.

Request Denied
Match referee Roshan Mahanama informed them that the appeal could only be withdrawn by the India captain. When approached, MS Dhoni and Duncan Fletcher declined do so.

Dhoni had obliged during the Trent Bridge Test last year when he withdrew an appeal against Ian Bell after he was adjudged run out at the stroke of tea on the third day after leaving the crease before the ball was dead. But the appeal was seen as going against the spirit of the game and the decision was overturned after Dhoni agreed to a request from the England camp.