Big Jharkhand names bite dust in poll ring | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 27, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Big Jharkhand names bite dust in poll ring

india Updated: Dec 23, 2014 19:57 IST
assembly elections live


The 2014 Jharkhand assembly polls will go down in history as a battle of debacle for political titans.

The surprise losers include three former chief ministers and nine out of 12 ministers of the Jharkhand government.

The former chief ministers who lost include Babulal Marandi from Giridih and Dhawar seats, Arjun Munda from Kharsawan and Madhu Koda from Majkhgaon seat.

At least nine out of 12 ministers of the coalition government besides chief minister Hemant Soren, who lost Dumka seat but managed a win from Barhait constituency, have lost the election. They include Rajendra Singh from Bermo, Mannan Mallick from Dhanbad, Banna Gupta from Jamshedpur West, Geetashri Oraon from Sisai, KN Tripathy from Daltonganj, Annapurna Devi from Koderma, Suresh Paswan from Deoghar, Haji Hussain Ansari from Madhupur and Lobin Hembrom from Borio.

Besides these, the defeat of state chiefs of several parties also add to the list of surprise losers. They include Babulal Marandi of JVM-P, Sudesh Mahto of the AJSU Party, Jaleshwar Mahto of the Janata Dal (United), Girinath Singh of the Rashtriya Janata Dal and the state Trinmool Congress president Bandhu Tirkey.

Former deputy chief minister and AJSU Party chief Sudesh Mahto, who entered into a pre-poll alliance with the BJP, suffered a humiliating defeat at the hands of JMM’s Amit Kumar in Silli constituency.

Just before the 2014 polls, Kumar had joined the BJP but had to leave the party to join the JMM after AJSU Party inked ties with the BJP.

The 2014 polls also saw bureaucrats who had quit service for a stint in politics losing elections. Former home secretary JB Tubid (IAS) lost to Deepak Biruwa of the JMM from Chaibasa while Binod Kispotta (IAS) lost election on a Congress ticket from Gumla. Similarly, two IPS officers Laxman Prasad Singh (BJP) and Biglal Oraon (independent) lost election from Dhanwar and Lohardga seats respectively.

The big winners, include Raghubar Das, CP Singh and Raj Sinha, who registered comprehensive wins from Jamshedpur East, Ranchi and Dhanbad respectively. All of them defeated their nearest rivals by margin of over 50,000 votes.

Louis Marandi, the BJP national secretary and candidate from Dumka, has also emerged as the giant killer defeating chief minister Hemant Soren.

Navin Jaiswal whose sitting Hatia seat went to the BJP in alliance fought election on the JVM-P ticket from there and registered prestigious win defeating BJP’s Seema Sharma.

Nirmala Devi, wife of incarcerated Barkagaon legislator Yogendra Sao also won barkagaon seat defying all odds. BJP’s Raj Sinha, CPI-ML’s Raj Kumar Yadav, JVM (P)’s Prakash Ram, Anant Ojha of BJP, Vikas Munda of AJSU Party, Gangotri Kujur of the BJP, Dasrath Gagrai of JMM would be some of the prominent new faces in the fourth Jharkhand assembly.