Bihar polls: Manjhi ends suspense, to contest from Makhdumpur | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bihar polls: Manjhi ends suspense, to contest from Makhdumpur

india Updated: Sep 18, 2015 22:53 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Bihar elections

Ending months of suspense, former Bihar chief minister and Hindustani Awam Morcha founder Jitan Ram Manjhi has decided to seek re-election from the Makhdumpur assembly seat.

Hindustani Awam Morcha–Secular, which will be contesting 20 seats in 243-member Bihar assembly, released a list of 13 contestants on Friday.

The former CM also announced the names of five leaders who would be contesting the elections on BJP tickets. Nitish
Mishra, Sumit Singh, Ajay Pratap, Binay Bihari and Raju Singh will be contesting on the saffron party’s ticket.

Manjhi, like his alliance partner and LJP leader Ram Vilas Paswan, also showed his affinity for family members by fielding his eldest son Santosh Kumar Suman from the Kutumba reserved constituency in Aurangabad district.

“The names for remaining seven seats, including the contentious Jamui and Chakai seats, would be announced on Saturday,” said Manjhi.

The Ram Vilas Paswan-led Lok Janashakti Party (LJP) has staked claim over these two seats.

In the list of 13 candidates, the party has inducted three new faces, including Manjhi’s son. Besides his son, Rajesh Kumar alias Rohit from Khagaria and Rajeshwar Manjhi from Phulwarisharif are the other two new faces.

All other members are either MLAs or MLCs in the outgoing Bihar assembly.

HAM state president Shakuni Choudhary will contest from Tarapur. Former ministers Brishen Patel will test his luck at Vaishali, Anil Kumar Singh from Tekari, Shahid Ali Khan from Sursand, Ajit Kumar from Kanti and Mahachander Singh from Gopalganj.

The list also includes names of leaders like Naushad Alam from the Darbhanga rural seat, Ravinder Rai from Mahua, Rahul Kumar from Ghosi and Santosh Kumar from Kutumba.

Under the NDA’s seat-sharing pact, the BJP will contest 160 seats in the 243-member assembly while the Lok Janashakti Party 40 seats, HAM 20 seats and Upendra Kushwaha’s Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) 23 seats.