Bihar records 58% voting in six seats amid stray violence | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 14, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bihar records 58% voting in six seats amid stray violence

Stray violence marred polling in the sixth and final phase of Lok Sabha elections in Bihar as 53.82% votes were cast by 5pm for six seats on Monday.

india Updated: May 12, 2014 20:31 IST
HT Correspondent

As per official Election Commission figures, 58% polling was recorded as balloting closed for six seats in the sixth and final phase of Lok Sabha elections in Bihar on Monday.

Stray violence were reported from different constituencies.

In Gopalganj constituency of northwestern Bihar, a man was admitted to hospital with multiple injuries after he was allegedly thrashed by JD(U) Kuchaikot MLA Amarendra Pandey.

TV reports said the district authorities had rushed to the Gopalganj Sadar hospital to see the victim, even as an inquiry was underway to ascertain details about the incident at booth no. 104 of the Hathwa subdivision.

Pandey has a history of wielding muscle power. Earlier a BSP MLA, he has been in and out of jail, owing to a number of criminal cases he has faced over the years.

Another TV report said there was tension at booth no. 30 at Vishnupur, also in Gopalganj, when a section of voters alleged a 'biased' approach of some poll personnel.

By 5 pm, at 50.09% polling was reported in Gopalganj where JD (U) nominee Anil Kumar is locked in a three-cornered contest with BJP's Janak Ram and RJD-backed Congress nominee Jyoti Bharti.

Interestingly, the Gopalganj seat was won in 2009 by BJP-backed JD (U) nominee Purnmasi Ram, who has since been expelled by the party after he professed allegiance to the RJD.

Purnmasi was first named the RJD nominee for Gopalganj in the current election. Thereafter, he was made the RJD backed Congress nominee in Valmikinagar, where 55% polling was recorded by 5 pm.

In Valmikinagar, Purnmasi is pitted against BJP's Satish Chandra Dubey and sitting JD(U) MP Baidyanath Prasad Mahto.

TV channels also reported a clash between workers of the JD (U) and the BJP at booth no. 106 at Harsiddhi in Purvi Champaran constituency, in which 54% polling was recorded by 5 pm.

In Purvi Champaran, sitting MP and BJP nominee Radha Mohan Singh is being challenged by JD(U)'s Avanish Kumar Singh, who had earlier quit as BJP MLA and crossed over to Nitish Kumar's party.

The BJP and JD(U), electoral alles since 1996, has parted ways in June last year after Narendra Modi, now the BJP's PM nominee, was named head of his party's campaign committee at its Goa conclave.

At 55.35%, highest polling at 5 pm was recorded in Vaishali from where former union minister and RJD nominee Raghuvansh Prasad Singh is seeking his sixth consecutive term in the Lok Sabha.

Pitted against Singh is the BJP-backed Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) nominee Ram Kishore Singh alias Rama Singh, JD(U) candidate Vijay Manjhi and JD(U) rebel, Lalganj MLA and independent candidate Annu Shukla.

In Siwan where RJD's Hena Shahab, wife of incarcerated ex-MP Mohammad Shahabuddin, is seeking to upstage sitting MP and BJP nominee Omprakash Yadav, 51.25% polling had been reported.

Yadav had won the seat as an independent candidate in 2009, defeating Shahab, who has been standing in for her husband, whose conviction has caused him to be disqualified from contesting elections.

In Paschim Champaran, where film maker Prakash Jha is the JD (U) nominee against sitting BJP MP Sanjay Jaiswal and Raghunath Jha (RJD), 58% polling was recorded till 5pm.

Full coverage: My India My Vote