BJP announces second list for Lok Sabha polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 23, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP announces second list for Lok Sabha polls

india Updated: Mar 08, 2014 20:09 IST
Kumar Uttam
Kumar Uttam
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story


The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced its second list of 52 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections with former Karnataka chief ministers BS Yeddyurappa and DV Sadananda Gowda and Rajya Sabha MP Chandan Mitra among the prominent names.

With its second list on Saturday, the BJP has announced a total of 106 candidates for the Lok Sabha elections that will be held between April 7 and May 12. The third list of BJP’s LS candidates would be announced after an election meeting on March 13.

The BJP has decided to field Yeddyurappa from Shimoga in Karnataka and journalist-turned-politician Mitra from Hooghly in West Bengal. Gowda will contest from Bangalore Central. BJP MP Ananth Kumar will contest from his constituency, Bangalore South. The Congress is likely to field Aadhaar chairman Nandan Nilekani from the Bangalore South Lok Sabha seat.

The BJP announced the names of 20 LS nominees from Karnataka on Saturday. Candidates for the remaining eight seats in the state would be announced after the next poll meeting of the party.

The saffron party did not name its LS candidate from Bellary. BJP leader Sushma Swaraj on Thursday opposed any merger or tie-up with the BSR Congress, a party floated by an aide of the Reddy brothers of Bellary. "I am opposed to the BSR alliance or merger with BJP in Karnataka...I have conveyed to (party president) Rajnath Singh in writing that BJP must not permit this," she tweeted.

Two of the Reddy brothers, Somasekhara Reddy and G Janardhan Reddy, had quit the BJP after their arrest in the mining scam.

The BJP had earlier announced its first list of 54 candidates for Lok Sabha seats in eight states with former party president Nitin Gadkari, magician PC Sorcar, former Himachal Pradesh chief minister Shanta Kumar and youth wing chief Anurag Thakur among the big names.

Read: Gadkari, Shanta Kumar in BJP's first list for LS polls