BJP announces third list for Karnataka | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 26, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP announces third list for Karnataka

india Updated: Apr 23, 2008 20:34 IST

BJP on Wednesday announced its third list of 14 candidates for the Karnataka assembly election, fielding 10 new faces and retaining two sitting MLAs and a minister.

The party has so far announced its contestants for 185 seats of 224 seats strong state assembly.

BJP, which lost power in the state in November last year after its failed alliance with JD(S), has been in talks for long with its NDA partner JD(U) to jointly contest the next month assembly polls.

But, the two parties have come to a deadlock over the seat-sharing as the JD(U) has been demanding a larger chunk than the saffron party is willing to give.

BJP, however, said talks with JD(U) on seat-sharing were still on.

BJP's third list includes one-woman candidate Pooja Santhosh from Shrirangapattana and a former minister S Thippeswamy from Molakalmur.