BJP candidate loses to BSP in PM Modi’s adopted village | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 22, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP candidate loses to BSP in PM Modi’s adopted village

india Updated: Nov 02, 2015 18:23 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Jayapur village

In this file photo, villagers make a rangoli to welcome Prime Minister Narendra Modi to Jayapur.(Ashok Dutta/HT File Photo)

In another setback to the BJP, BSP-backed candidate Ramesh Tewari ‘Guddu’ won the post of zila panchayat member, defeating the saffron party’s Arun Singh ‘Rinku’ in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s adopted village Jayapur.

Although sources confirmed Guddu’s victory, the exact number of votes by which he defeated his rivals was yet to be announced. According to locals, Rinku, a resident of Kanakpur in sector 5, lost because he was a first-timer and also had a pending criminal case against him.

Analysing the overall situation in the region, local BJP leader Shiv Shankar Singh ‘Khiladi’ said: “BJP performed well in Jayapur. However, the party couldn’t do well at other polling booths under sector number 5.”

“Brahmins supported Tewari because of his amicable nature. He also received votes from the Patel community. Besides, the BSP also voted for him ensuring his victory.” Tewari contested the panchayat polls for the post of zila panchayat five years ago, too, but lost.

However, bringing some respite to the party, BJP-backed candidate Madhuri Devi won the seat for the block development committee member from ward number 121 (Jayapur Pratham). With 367 votes, she defeated her nearest rival Pushpa Devi by 28 votes. Another BJP-backed candidate from ward 122 (Jayapur second) Kripa Shankar Singh defeated his closest rival Manoj Mishra by 129 votes.

Taking a dig at the BJP Congress MLA Laliteshpati Tripathi said: “Upset with the party’s false promise of carrying out development work Jayapur voted against the BJP in these polls.”

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature