BJP, Cong share civic body seats | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP, Cong share civic body seats

india Updated: Dec 30, 2006 15:38 IST

THE BJP cornered Congress in Malwa region in two civic body elections while the Congress dominated in certain other parts of the State. For the first time, the BJP won Mandu Nagar Panchayat seat after two decades of its inception. The results were declared today.

In election to the post of Nagada Nagar Palika president in Ujjain district, BJP’s Gopal Yadav defeated the Congress’ Krishnakant Jaiswal by a close margin of 613 votes. The former polled 17,781 votes while Agarwal got 17,168 votes. The election was necessitated because of dismissal of the Nagar Palika president Baleshwar Jaiswal on charges of

He later moved the court against the government’s decision. In Mandu Nagar Panchayat election in Dhar district, the BJP’s Heerabai, who polled 1203 votes, defeated the Congress-supported candidate Rukhma Bai by 197 votes. Rukhma Bai secured 1006 votes.

Here, seven seats of corporators went to the BJP against five to the Congress and three to independent candidates.   The BJP also won ward election at Sardarpur in Dhar district.

In Pasan Nagar Palika election in Anuppur district the Congress’ Suman Gupta defeated the BJP’s Ramawadh Singh for the president’s post. Gupta polled 5906 votes while Singh got 3490 votes. The Congress won 10 seats of corporators against the BJP’s two seats, Bharatiya Janshakti’s one seat and three seats to independent candidates.

In Amarkantak Nagar Panchayat election, Congress’ Meena became the president by defeating the BJP’s Leela Devi by a narrow margin of 13 votes. The Congress won seven seats of corporators against the BJP’s six and three seats to independent candidates.