BJP expels four MLAs from party | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 23, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP expels four MLAs from party

india Updated: May 26, 2010 19:36 IST

Four Assam Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) who voted for a Congress candidate in the last Rajya Sabha polls have been expelled from the primary membership of the party with immediate effect, BJP state unit spokesman Pradip Thakuria said in Guwahati on Wednesday.

Party President Nitin Gadkari expelled the four, who were earlier suspended from the party, for their "unpardonable indiscipline and anti-party activities" during the Rajya Sabha polls, Thakuria said.

The four MLAs -- Abhijit Hazarika of Rangapara constituency, Dr Rumi Nath of Borkhola, Sambhu Singh Malla of Ratabari and Kartik Sen Sinha of Patharkandi constituency -- had instead of voting for the opposition combined candidate whom the BJP was supporting, voted for Congress candidate Silvius Condopan.

"The four MLAs had violated the basic norms of party discipline and acted in a dubious manner by supporting the Congress candidate," Thakuria said.