BJP, PDP leaders meet governor NN Vohra over govt formation in J-K | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP, PDP leaders meet governor NN Vohra over govt formation in J-K

india Updated: Jan 28, 2015 20:00 IST


PDP and BJP may be heading towards forming a coalition government in Jammu and Kashmir with leaders of both the parties apprising governor N N Vohra separately about progress in their talks even as they prepared for a tie-up in the coming Rajya Sabha elections.

PDP MLA Haseeb Drabu, the interlocutor with the BJP on talks for government formation, met the Governor who earlier received a BJP delegation headed by party's general secretary Ram Madhav, the party pointsman in the state.

Significantly after the meetings, Raj Bhavan issued a statement which said Drabu apprised the Governor "about the realisations which have emerged from the PDP-BJP parleys on government formation which have been continuing for the past about a month and the broad contours of the matters being finalised in the coming days."

In another release, the Raj Bhavan said during the one-hour long meeting Madhav informed the Governor "about the present status of the ongoing BJP-PDP discussions on the formation of an elected Government."

He was accompanied by state BJP President Jugal Kishore and party MLA Nirmal Singh.

In the highly-fractured verdict, PDP emerged as the single largest party with 28 MLAs followed closely by BJP with 25. National Conference ended up with a tally of 15 while Congress got 12 seats.

In the 87-member House, two seats each went to People's Conference and Jammu And Kashmir People Democratic Front (Secular), three independents and one to CPM.

In Delhi, Congress reacted cautiously to the development.

"The Jammu and Kashmir situation has been evolving for a long time. Let something concrete happen. It will be one more u turn for those who had been targeting the PDP and its leadership", party spokesman Randeep Surjewala said obviously targeting the BJP.