BJP releases list of 17 more LS candidates | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 11, 2016-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP releases list of 17 more LS candidates

india Updated: Feb 26, 2009 20:17 IST

Highlight Story

The BJP on Thursday released a list of 17 Lok Sabha candidates for Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand including general secretary Vinay Katiyar and former chief minister Arjun Munda but could not decide on its nominees in four states where it has an alliance with key NDA constituents.

While Katiyar will contest from Ambedkar Nagar(UP) Munda will be in fray from Jamshedpur (Jharkhand).

Today’s list included seven seats from Jharkhand and twelve from Uttar Pradesh.

With this, BJP has so far announced 119 candidates including L K Advani from Gandhinagar(Gujarat) and party chief Rajnath Singh from Ghaziabad(UP).

The party could not take any decision on its candidates in Bihar, Punjab, Maharashtra and Orissa where it has alliance with SAD, Shiv Sena and BJD.

The BJP also deferred a decision of the candidate for Lucknow to the next meeting of the party’s central election committee likely next week.

A decision on its nominees in Rajasthan, where BJP does not have any alliance partner, is also awaited.

The party was forced to cancel the press conference to announce its candidates after media boycotted the party briefing alleging discrimination by the party media cell against the regional and electronic media.