BJP rewards coalgate whistleblower

  • Saubhadra Chatterji, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Sep 01, 2014 22:44 IST

The ruling BJP rewarded its whistleblower in the coal scam, Lok Sabha MP Hansraj Ahir, nominating him as the chairman of the standing committee on coal.

Ahir, an MP from Maharashtra had written several letters to the then Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, unearthing the scams. The Comptroller and Auditor General of India and Central Vigilance Commission had also acted on his complaints.

The list of standing committees announced on Monday - after almost two months of the first sitting of Lok Sabha - will see BJP and its allies chairing 16 out of 24 panels. The BJP alone head 11 committees. As reported by HT, Congress' Ashwini Kumar, Pradip Bhattacharyya, EMS Natchiappan have become chairmen. The Congress has also bargained for the chairman's slot in finance panel. M Veerappa Moily will head it.

The BJP's pick for chairman of water resource ministry is Hukum Singh from Uttar Pradesh as much of the ministry's work will relate to the cleaning of Ganga. It has nominated JP Nadda, considered close to party president Amit Shah, as head of the Human Resource Development committee.

The ruling party's Rajya Sabha MP Chandan Mitra has become the chairman of standing committee on commerce and its senior leaders Rajiv Pratap Rudy and BC Khanduri will head panels on energy and defence, respectively. BJP's Anurag Thakur is the youngest chairman, heading IT panel.

While SP missed any chairman's post, its arch-rival BSP will lead the health committee. TDP, Shivsena and BJD have also been given chairman's slots.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has preferred to be a member of committee on external affairs, which is headed by partyman Shashi Tharoor.

From Around the Web
Sponsored by Revcontent

also read

Monitoring border situation, can respond to ‘any attack’: Pak army official
Show comments