BJP's loss in UP worse than it seems, party lost most ground in Lucknow | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP's loss in UP worse than it seems, party lost most ground in Lucknow

india Updated: Sep 17, 2014 08:56 IST
HT Data Team
HT Data Team
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Have the people of Uttar Pradesh (UP) denounced the Modi wave? Samajwadi Party (SP) has won 8 out of the 11 assembly seats contested on Friday in the state. Interestingly, all these assembly constituencies in UP were won by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) during the legislative elections of 2012.

In a Lok Sabha by-poll, Samajwadi Party (SP) won the Mainpuri parliamentary constituency again as it did during the Lok Sabha polls this year.

If one compares the performance of BJP during the bypolls in UP with that in the national elections this year, it can be said that BJP lost on an average around one-third of its votes. In the assembly seats which went to poll on Friday, BJP lost around 40,000 votes per constituency on an average.

In the 11 UP constituencies that went to polls, BJP got a total of 730,393 votes compared to 1,204,038 votes it got three months back.

In the Charkhari constituency BJP did not even come second. In 2012, high profile candidate Uma Bharti had won this seat by 64,035 votes.

BJP won the Lucknow East seat but with the highest drop in the total number of votes. During the Lok Sabha polls BJP got 1,47,654 votes in Lucknow East while this time it managed just 62,164 votes. This was a drop of 85,490 votes, which was about 58%. The Lucknow parliamentary constituency seat is held by home minister Rajnath Singh.

Nighasan assembly constituency had the lowest drop of 462 votes for the BJP, a decrease of 0.5% from the LS polls. Bijnor had the second lowest drop of 6,057 votes.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) did not contest any of these seats. It is a fact that BSP has a big share of votes in UP.

The following graph gives the details of the vote loss of the BJP. It must be noted that Charkhari constituency has not been taken into account in this analysis because the state election commission has still not updated the BJP numbers as Congress has come second in these constituency after SP.

Story ideation and written by :
Sourjya Bhowmick (@sourjyabhowmick)

Research : Shreya Chatterjee

Visualization: Vignesh Radhakrishnan (@vinuthewriter)

Disclaimer : Estimates are based on preliminary figures of number of votes secured.