BJP’s ‘Mission 175’ for Bihar polls | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP’s ‘Mission 175’ for Bihar polls

india Updated: Jul 19, 2014 23:55 IST
Binod Dubey
Binod Dubey
Hindustan Times
BJP executive committee meeting

The meeting of the executive committee of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Patna on Saturday sounded the bugle for the Bihar assembly polls in 2015. The saffron party indicated that the NDA would declare its CM candidate two months in advance.

The party also said it had set a target of winning 175 of the 243 seats in the state. "It will be a straight fight between the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on one side and the rest of the parties, including the JD(U), RJD, Left and the Congress, on the other," said party national general secretary (organisation) Ram Lal.

"While the NDA represents good governance, the other combination symbolises jungle raj," he added, in a broadside at former chief minister Nitish Kumar's hints that the JD(U) would look to seal an alliance with the RJD - something it had so far opposed politically.

Inaugurating the two-day executive meeting of the BJP at the Gait Public Library at Gardanibagh here, Lal said the party was left with just 400 days before the commencement of the next assembly elections, and during this short period of time, it has to cross many barriers, including exposing the unholy alliance between the JD(U) and the RJD.

He said the party could easily get two-thirds majority, for it had led in 175 assembly segments in the last Lok Sabha polls.

The BJP leaders may dismiss the regrouping of political parties in the state as an insignificant development, but the proposed alliance between the two erstwhile foes - Lalu Prasad and Nitish Kumar - remained the focal point of discussion at the executive meeting.

Not just Lal, but a majority of the prominent leaders who addressed the gathering addressed the issue.

Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad, the RJD chief have repeatedly looked to rub it in that as against the 38% of votes for NDA in the Lok Sabha polls, the other parties - the RJD, JD(U) and the Congress - had sealed 45% and the NDA stood no chance in 2015 against such a political combine.

Even in its political proposal, the executive committee resolved to launch a decisive campaign against the "immoral and opportunistic" alliance between the JD(U), RJD and the Congress.

The BJP meeting was attended by all the organizational heads, party's Union ministers, MPs and legislators.

Giving the poll mantra to the party, the organisational general secretary said the BJP should gladly embrace all those leaders, who wanted to join its fold, hinting that it would have an open door policy for JD(U) deserters. "This is the time, to make friendships," he said, while exhorting them to galvanise the booth committees and strengthen the Mandal units to win the desired number of seats.

Setting the agenda for the executive, state BJP chief Mangal Pandey said the BJP was no more a political pariah. "The result of the last Lok Sabha polls made it clear that people from all sections of the society joined the BJP fold, and with that strength, we should take on our adversaries in the coming assembly polls," he said.

Taking a cue from Lal's speech, he too talked about strengthening the booth committees. "Booth jeete to chunao jeete (if we win the booths, we can win the elections)," he said.

Pandey said, in view of the rapid political developments, particularly dissensions in the ruling party, the assembly elections could take place at any point in time. "And we have to be prepared for that."

He made it quite clear that the party could not afford to harp on its remarkable victory in the Lok Sabha polls. "If we want to win, we will have to toil hard," he pointed out.

Union communication minister Ravi Shankar Prasad talked briefly about the brighter points of Narendra Modi government's budget and said people from all strata would benefit from it.

Other prominent leaders who attended the executive included Union agriculture minister Radha Mohan Singh, Sushil Kumar Modi, Rajiv Pratap Rudi, Nand Kishore Yada, Ashwini Kumar Chaubey and Shatrughan Sinha.