BJP scores a landslide victory in Jharkhand, Congress routed | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 01, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP scores a landslide victory in Jharkhand, Congress routed

india Updated: May 17, 2014 01:33 IST

Riding on a tidal wave of support for Narendra Modi, the BJP on Friday claimed 12 out of the 14 seats in Jharkhand but more importantly wiped out the Congress and other regional parties barring the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM).

Jharkhand joined the league of the BJP ruled states namely Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan, Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh where Congress has been routed. This was the BJP’s best performance in Jharkhand since its creation in 2000.

JMM chief Shibu Soren registered his eighth victory in the general elections defeating arch rival Sunil Soren of the BJP by 39,030 votes.

Vijay Hansda, son of former MP Thomas Hansda, surprised the BJP by snatching the Rajmahal seat in a tight contest from Hemlal Murmu. Murmu, a JMM turncoat, had been leading the initial rounds.

In the 2004 general elections, BJP had secured only one berth while in the 2009 poll, the saffron brigade won eight seats.

Later, it was reduced to seven when JVM-P’s Ajoy Kumar clinched the 2011 Jamshedpur by-poll defeating BJP candidate Dineshanand Goswami.

In a state where regional parties call the shots and play a major role in every government formation in Ranchi, this was a surprise sweep for the BJP, out of power since July 2013.

The polls spelt disaster for the two major regional parties, JVM-P and AJSU Party, who failed to open their accounts. Their chiefs Babulal Marandi and Sudesh Mahato miserably lost the polls from Dumka and Ranchi respectively.

Defeat of former union minister and Congress candidate, Subodh Kant Sahay by a margin of 1.99 lakh votes from Ranchi was also a big setback for the UPA.

This poll also saw two legislators bagging Lok Sabha seats. They are Laxman Gilua and Vidhyut Varn Mahato. The jinx of women candidates failing in the general elections continued.

There were strong hopes of Geeta Koda, independent candidate and wife of tainted ex-CM Madhu Koda winning the Singhbhum seat.

The new entrant TMC could not open its account in the state.