BJP shortlists 4 names for South Goa LS seat | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 31, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP shortlists 4 names for South Goa LS seat

india Updated: Jan 18, 2009 05:18 IST

BJP on Saturday shortlisted four names, including that of Goa Leader of Opposition Manohar Parrikar, for the South Goa Parliamentary constituency.

Goa BJP Executive and Election Committees, which held a series of meetings since last evening, selected the names.

Besides Parrikar, a former Chief Minister, others are State BJP General Secretary Narendra Savaikar, former Minister Prakash Velip and ex-state unit President Rajendra Arlekar.

The final candidate would be decided by the party's Central leadership.

BJP's Goa affairs in-charge Rajiv Pratap Rudy chaired the meetings where party leaders tried to convince Parrikar to contest from South Goa.

"Parrikar has expressed his unwillingness to contest the Parliamentary polls. But still we will be forwarding his name to the Central Election Committee," Rudy told reporters his afternoon.

The BJP has already declared its State unit President and sitting MP Sripad Naik as the candidate for North Goa seat. The South Goa seat is currently held by Congress.

Goa has two Lok Sabha seats.

Rudy said BJP's Central Election Committee will meet on January 19, 20 and 21 in Delhi where the final name would be announced.

The central leadership is keen on Parrikar contesting from South Goa, party sources said.

The technocrat-turned-politician enjoys good support base in the constituency, which has a few Catholic dominated pockets.