BJP to contests all 14 LS seats in Jharkhand | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP to contests all 14 LS seats in Jharkhand

india Updated: Jan 22, 2009 09:08 IST

Highlight Story

The BJP on Wednesday announced that it will field candidates for all the 14 Lok Sabha seats in Jharkhand, leaving its ally JD(U) fuming.

"The BJP national leadership has already announced four names -- Yashwant Sinha (Hazaribag), Karia Munda (Khunti), Ramtahal Choudhary (Ranchi) and P N Singh (Dhanbad) for the coming general elections," party state unit president Raghuvar Das said.

Asked about the demand of JD(U), another NDA constituent, for its share of seats, Das told at a press conference that BJP and JD(U) have a national alliance and it was up to the national leaderships of the two parties to discuss the matter.

"I cannot comment on it as we have an alliance at the national level," he said.

Reacting sharply to BJP's announcement on candidates, JD(U) said a delegation would soon call on its national leadership.

"Our state executive committee has passed a resolution to appeal to the national leadership to allow us to field candidates in six Lok Sabha seats. A delegation will meet the national JD(U) leaders at the earliest," party state unit spokesman Pramod Kumar Mishra said.

Recalling how BJP drew a blank in the 2005 general elections after going to the hustings all alone, he said, "It (BJP) is making the same mistake once again."