BJP to move breach of privilege against CM, Dy CM | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 25, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BJP to move breach of privilege against CM, Dy CM

india Updated: Jun 18, 2010 15:55 IST
Highlight Story

Objecting to Congress-NCP's indications of revoking suspension of MNS MLAs for voting for the ruling alliance during Maharashtra Council polls, BJP has decided to move a breach of privilege motion against Chief Minister, Deputy Chief Minister and Parliamentary Affairs Minister.

"We are not against revoking suspension of MNS MLAs. But revoking the suspension should not be used as a political weapon and therefore, I would move a breach of privilege motion against CM Ashok Chavan, Dy CM Chhagan Bhujbal and Parliamentary Minister Harshwardhan Patil," state BJP president Sudhir Mungantiwar said in Mumbai on Friday.

MNS chief Raj Thackeray last week admitted that the idea to vote in favour of the Congress-NCP was to ensure that his four suspended MLAs entered the House. The MNS MLAs were suspended last year for four years for attacking SP MLA Abu Azmi who took oath as a legislator in Hindi in the House.

Terming it as a "political blackmail", Mungantiwar said this is not the way to revoke the suspension of the MLAs. MNS was pressurised by the ruling parties to vote for them for revoking the suspension, he alleged.

The motion would be moved in the monsoon session of the Assembly on July 12, he said.

"The decision to suspend MNS MLAs was taken by the House members and only they can revoke it. However, Patil already indicated while speaking to media that through majority, suspension can be revoked," Mungantiwar said.