Bowlers win it for Madhya Pradesh | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Bowlers win it for Madhya Pradesh

india Updated: Oct 31, 2006 16:28 IST

MADHYA PRADESH trounced Railways by 8 wickets in the Vinoo Mankad Trophy central zone under-19 cricket tournament played at the Maharani Usha Raje grounds here on Monday. Batting first, Railways got off to a disastrous start losing 3 wickets by the 8th over with 16 runs on the board.

Barring Gaurav Tiwari and Utpal Mehandi, all the batsmen failed to reach the double figures and the innings folded in 30.3 overs with a score of 76 runs. For Madhya Pradesh, Mayank Jagdale and Amarjeet Singh took three wickets each.

In reply, Madhya Pradesh also got an early jolt when opener Manoj Singh was run out by Amrendra Pandey in the very first over for a duck. Madhav Saxena and Himalaya Sagar then steadied the innings taking the score to 34 in the 12th over when Sagar holed out to V Bharatram. There were no more cheers for Railways, and Rohan Shrivastava and Madhav Saxena took the hosts to victory in 23.4 overs. Madhav remained unbeaten on 42 while Rohan scored 16.
Vidarbha beat UP

In another match played at the Aamrakoot cricket grounds, Vidarbha defeated Uttar Pradesh by two wickets. Batting first, Uttar Pradesh lost its opener Zahid Ali in the 3rd over who was out leg before to Shrikant Wagh for a duck.

Gaurav Goel and Subodh Shrivastava then played sedately before Goel got out in the 7th over with the scoreboard reading 18. Shrikant Wagh again struck in the same over sending new batsman Umang Sharma back for a duck.

Some sensible batting in the middle overs by Eklavya Dwivedi and later by Bhuwneshwar Singh took the score to 142 for 8 at the end of 50 overs. Dwivedi top scored with 45. For Vidarbha, Shrikant Wagh took 3 wickets.

In reply, Vidarbha made a steady start scoring 44 runs without losing any wicket. Wasim Haider provided the breakthrough for Uttar Pradesh, clean bowling Gourav Upadhyaya in the 11th over.

Two more wickets followed in quick succession and Vidarbha looked in trouble at 48 for 3 in the 13th over. Middle order batsmen Abhijeet Kale and Md Karim steadied the ship taking Vidarbha close to the victory total. Late order batsmen Viraj Kadbe and Mangesh Joshi finished it off in 43rd over. For Uttar Pradesh, Wasim Haider took 3 wickets for 32 runs.