Briton Button wins Hungarian Grand Prix | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2018-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Briton Button wins Hungarian Grand Prix

The season points leaders Fernando Alonso of Renault and No 2 Michael Schumacher fail to score any points.

india Updated: Aug 07, 2006 04:13 IST

Jenson Button in a Honda won his first Formula One race on Sunday, taking the Hungarian Grand Prix with second place for Pedro De La Rosa of McLaren Mercedes and third for Nick Heidfeld in a BMW Sauber.

The season points leaders Fernando Alonso of Renault and No 2 Michael Schumacher failed to score any points, leaving Alonso with 100 and seven-time champion Schumacher of Ferrari with 89. Five races remain - a victory is worth 10 points - with the Turkish Grand Prix next up on Aug 27 in Istanbul. Defending champion Alonso went out on the 52nd of 70 laps, and Schumacher went off with three laps remaining.

In a wet and wild race that started in rainy conditions and ended almost in sunshine, Button gained his first win in the 113th race of a career that began in 2000.

"Wow. What a day," said the 26-year-old Englishman, who was 30.8 seconds ahead of De La Rosa. It was the Spaniard's best finish of his career.

"The last 10 laps I didn't want the race to end. I was loving it," Button said. "I had a 40-second lead and I didn't want it to end."

Button started from 14th on the grid, penalised for an engine change on Saturday. He was the first British winner since David Coulthard three seasons ago for McLaren.

Rubens Barrichello was fourth in a Honda, with Coulthard fifth for Red Bull and Ralf Schumacher sixth in a Toyota. Alonso and Schumacher started in the middle of the grid after both were hit with time penalties in qualifying on Saturday.

Schumacher was caught passing two cars under a red flag in Saturday's practice, and Alonso was judged for unnecessary, unacceptable and 'dangerous' actions in trying to pass Red Bull test driver Robert Doornbos in Friday's practice. Alonso appeared to be on his way to victory through the wet and drying conditions. He was leading when he pitted for the second time. But as he pulled back on to the track for the 52nd lap, his car began to slide from side to side and he retired after striking tire barriers.

Schumacher, who stood to close in on Alonso's point lead, was in second place late in the race but retired with three to go with apparent tire problems.

Kimi Raikkonen of McLaren-Mercedes, last year's winner, had the pole position and led for a while before he went out. Raikkonen's race was over when he smashed into the back of Vitantonio Liuzzi's Toro Rosso on the 26th lap.