BS Sidhu appointed new DGP of Uttarakhand | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BS Sidhu appointed new DGP of Uttarakhand

india Updated: Sep 30, 2013 19:26 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

The Uttarakhand government on Monday appointed senior IPS officer BS Sidhu as the 8th director general of police (DGP). Sidhu, a 1979 batch officer replaced Satyavrat Bansal, who retired on September 30.

With this, the suspense over new DGP has come to an end. Apart from Sidhu, SK Bhagat, a 1982 batch IPS officer was also in the fray. Interestingly, Bhagat was elevated to the director general grade only on September 25.

Soon after his name was cleared, Sidhu took over charge from the outgoing DGP Bansal. He met senior officials at police headquarters and shared his view points.

In fact, there were speculations whether government would consider Sidhu as his name surfaced in a controversial land deal. HT, however, could not independently investigate the matter.

Meanwhile, setting aside all speculations, the government went ahead with Sidhu, who was executing as DG (rules and manuals). Officials had earlier hinted that the government was likely to follow the 'seniority' formula and Sidhu being senior than Bhagat was the official choice.

The Police Act stipulates that the DGP shall have a minimum tenure of two years subject to superannuation.

Addressing officials at the police headquarters, the outgoing DGP Satyavrat Bansal said that officials must become role model for juniors. Talking on his tenure, Bansal said he made efforts for introducing some changes in the system.

Born on 8th April 1956, Birindar Singh Sidhu hails from Jullundur in Punjab. He joined IPS in 1979. His first posting as ASP (probationer) was at Hyderabad. Sidhu served for long in unified Uttar Pradesh.

As SP he served in Moradabad, Bareilly, Varanasi and Banda. Sidhu also served as SSP Jhansi, Meerut, Fatehgarh. He joined services in Uttarakhand in 2011. Earlier he was on deputation at Centre from 2004-2008.

DGPs since year 2000
* Ashok Kant Sharan
* Prem Dutta Raturi
* Kanchan Chaudhary Bhattacharya
* Subhash Joshi
* Jyoti Swaroop Pande
* Vijay Raghav Pant
* Satyavrat Bansal