BSP decides to contest all LS seats in Chhattisgarh | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 03, 2016-Saturday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BSP decides to contest all LS seats in Chhattisgarh

india Updated: Feb 24, 2009 14:48 IST

Highlight Story

Encouraged with the increased vote percentage during last year's assembly polls, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has decided to contest on all the 11 Lok Sabha constituencies of Chhattisgarh in the upcoming general elections.

BSP state unit president, Dauram Ratnakar told PTI on Tuesday that the final list of its candidates for the Lok Sabha polls would be out after his meeting with party supremo Mayawati on March 2.

"We have tentatively finalised the list of candidates. But the final list would be out after a meeting with the party president Mayawati on March 2," Ratnakar said.

He said he would contest this year's Lok Sabha election from the Janjgir Lok Sabha constituency.

During last year's assembly elections, BSP won two seats and polled six per cent of total votes, a two per cent higher than the previous assembly elections, when the party had polled a slight above four cent of the votes.

The increase in voting share in recent years clearly indicates that BSP is expanding its base in the state, Ratnakar said.