BSP sweeps UP legislative council polls, big jolt to SP | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BSP sweeps UP legislative council polls, big jolt to SP

india Updated: Jan 13, 2010 20:21 IST

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) swept the Vidhan Parishad (Local Authorities Constituencies) by bagging 31 out of the 33 seats the results of which were declared on Wednesday.

The rival political party Samajwadi Party and Congress managed to secure victory on one seats each.

In 100-member Vidhan Parishad the BSP secured majority with 54 members. The Samajwadi Party was major loser in the election. Out of the 36 seats that went to poll SP held 22 seats. The SP suffered defeat in its traditional stronghold including Etawah, Etah, Mainpuri and Firozabad. Its candidate secured victory on Pratapgarh seat.

BJP too suffered a humiliating defeat as it failed to open its account. Out of the 36 seats the BJP had captured six seats in 2003 election.

The RLD that drew a blank on 33 seats, it is still hopeful of opening accounts as the counting on three seats located in West Uttar Pradesh including Meerut, Bulandshahr and Aligarh will be held on Thursday. In the 2003 poll RLD secured victory on three seats.

The Congress managed to protect its Rae Bareli bastion from the charge of the elephant (BSP). In the 2003 poll it had bagged one seat and again it secured victory on one seat.

The voters rejected the independent candidates. In 2003 election two independent candidates were elected from Aligarh and Pratapgarh seats. The Samajwadi Janata Party (SJP) will have no member in the upper house as Ravishankar Singh ‘Pappu’ contested on BSP ticket and was declared elected from Ballia seat.

With the start of the counting at 8 am today BSP candidates led over their rivals on majority of the seats. The BSP camp was in jubilant mood as the results started pouring in.

Its candidate secured victory with comfortable margin on all the 31 seats including Moradabad/Bijnore, Rampur/Bareilly, Badaun, Pilibhit/Shahjhanpur, Hardoi, Kheri, Sitapur, Laucknow/Unnao, Sultanpur, Barabanki, Bahraich, Gonda, Faizabad, Basti/Siddharthnagar, Gorakhpur/Maharajganj, Deoria, Azamgarh/Mau, Ballia, Jaunpur, Varanasi, Mirzapur/Sonbhadra, Allahabad, Banda/Hamirpur, Jhansi/Jalaun, Kanpur/Fatehpur, Etawah/Farrukhabad, Agra/Firozabad, Mathura/Etah/Mainpuri (two seats) and Muzaffarnagar/Saharanpur.

Reacting over the results the Chief Minister Mayawati said the thumping victory of the BSP in the Vidhan Parishad election was an approval by the voters to the policies of her government. The BSP got support of all the communities.

The state spokesperson of SP, Rajendra Chaudhary said BSP misused the government machinery to secure victory in the Vidhan Parishad poll. The voters were terrorised as well as lured by the BSP candidates.

The state vice-president of BJP, Hirday Narayan Dixit said the victory of BSP was triumph of money and muscle power. The democracy lost in the election”, he said.

The UP Congress Committee spokesperson, Subodh Srivastava said BSP rigged the poll to ensure victory of its candidates. “The results are no indication of the sentiments of the common people. Congress had already registered its complaint with the Election Commission”, he said.