BSP to contest all 182 assembly seats in Gujarat | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BSP to contest all 182 assembly seats in Gujarat

india Updated: Oct 26, 2012 18:23 IST
Highlight Story

Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Friday said it will put up candidates in all the 182 constituencies in Gujarat for the Assembly polls.

"Our leader Mayawati has decided that the party will contest from all the seats in Gujarat on its own and will not to have seat adjustments with any political party," member of legislative council (UP) Dharmaprakash Bhartiya told reporters in Ahmedabad.

The party also declared the first list of 50 candidates.

In the 2007 Assembly polls, BSP had fielded candidates in 166 seats and secured 2.62% of the total votes.

On the party's prospects, he claimed, "We might not form our government but we will definitely be the king maker in the state.

"We are very clear in our strategy and no political party in the state has yet dared to select their candidates, which shows that they are mired in serious power struggles," he said.

Accusing chief miniister Narendra Modi of adopting 'double standards' on the issue of corruption, he said, "Modi is attacking the UPA government on the corruption issue but here one of his ministers has been allegedly involved in a multi-crore scam."

"Modi should resign on moral grounds," he demanded.

He said that BSP chief Mayawati will soon visit Gujarat for campaigning.

"Our leader Mayawati will definitely come, if needed than more than once to the state," he said.

In the 2007 polls, BJP and Congress had cornered 49.12% and 39.63% of the votes respectively, whereas BSP came in the third place with a share of 2.62% of votes.

Assembly elections in the state are scheduled to be held on December 13 and 17 and counting of votes will be held on December 20.