BSP to contest all 39 seats in TN | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

BSP to contest all 39 seats in TN

india Updated: Mar 08, 2009 18:08 IST

Mayawati-led Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) will contest all 39 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu, the party's national general secretary said today.

"Our party will contest all 40 seats, including the one in Puducherry. This is to show the political strength of BSP in Tamil Nadu," Suresh Mane told PTI.

He said his party had selected 12 candidates for filing nominations for the polls. "The names of the other candidates will be announced in a phased manner," Mane, who is the party's coordinator for Kerala and Tamil Nadu, said.

On the campaign strategy, he said BSP Chief Mayawati would twice visit the state -- before the filing of nominations and once again after the nominations are over.

BSP State Secretary P Sivagami, a noted writer and social activist, said BSP could gain a strong foothold in Tamil Nadu by working for Backward Classes, a majority in the state.

Sivagami, who has decided to stand from Kanyakumari district, said there was no question of an alliance with other parties or supporting the candidate of any front, since they were going it alone.

She said BSP had appointed booth committees across the state and the party would commence door-to-door canvassing from tomorrow. "It will be a collective effort. Our ideology should reach every nook and corner," she said.