By-polls held in two wards of Aurangabad Municipal Corproation | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 24, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

By-polls held in two wards of Aurangabad Municipal Corproation

india Updated: Jan 19, 2009 08:44 IST
Highlight Story

Two wards of Aurangabad Municipal Corporation (AMC) that went by-polls on Sunday, saw a 40 per cent turn out of voters till afternoon, officials said.

The by-polls were conducted in Ganesh colony and Lota Karanja wards of AMC after the corporators of respective wards had resigned on October 13, 2008 in the wake of Dhule communal riots.

In all four corporators of AMC, three belonging to NCP and one independent, had resigned from their respective posts protesting against the failure of state government in providing security to minority community during Dhule riots, leading to the by-polls in four wards of AMC.

However, the candidates from Maqsood Colony and Sharif Colony wards were elected unopposed.

Mujib Alam Khan, formerly a NCP corporator, was elected unopposed as an independent candidate from Maqsood Colony while Nisar Ahmed, independent, was elected from Sharif Colony.

Javed Qureshi, who deserted NCP and is now contesting as an independent, and Shiv Sena's Jeevan Ramdas Borde are in the fray for the corporatorship of Ganesh colony ward while in Lota Karanja ward, Yasmeen Begum, who is contesting as an independent after resigning as NCP corporator, has a straight fight with Shiv Sena's Mangala Dabhade.

Meanwhile, elections for 23 wards of the Sillod Municipal Council started today morning in tight security. More than 31000 voters are to exercise their rights to vote.

According to official reports, 56 per cent voters exercised their rights till late afternoon.