Cabinet expansion: Parrikar, Rudy among 21 new ministers in PM Modi's team

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, New Delhi
  • Updated: Nov 09, 2014 14:59 IST

In the first cabinet expansion exercise after assuming power, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inducted 21 ministers into his council on Sunday. While four of them are cabinet-rank ministers, three are ministers of state (independent charge) and rest of the 14 are MoS.

Before the exercise, Modi held discussions with the new ministers over tea at 7, Race Course Road, his official residence. List of the ministers to take oath was sent to the Rashtrapati Bhavan earlier in the day.

Former Goa CM Manohar Parrikar, BJP leaders JP Nadda and Birender Singh and Shiv Sena leader Suresh Prabhu took oath as cabinet ministers.

Ministers of State (independent charge) include Bandaru Dattatreya, Rajiv Pratap Rudy and Dr Mahesh Sharma.

Live Blog Cabinet reshuffle

also read

New responsibility based on my past performance: Parrikar
Show comments