Campion win a thriller against St Joseph?s | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Campion win a thriller against St Joseph?s

india Updated: Dec 27, 2006 01:53 IST

CAMPION SCHOOL scored a thrilling seven-run victory over a strong St Joseph’s Co-ed School in the Dr Govind Narayan Singh Memorial Inter-School Cricket Carnival organised at Old Campion grounds on Tuesday.

It was a keenly fought match on the third day of the tournament. St Joseph’s skipper Gaurav Talreja, seeing the early morning moisture in the pitch, invited Campion School to bat first.

St Joseph’s bowlers responded to the skipper’s call and dismissed the opening pair of Campion School cheaply. But Chetan Nema and Rohit, who followed the openers, steadied the ship. Nema not only stayed at the wicket but also stole run off every loose delivery. Though Nema’s innings ended at 35 runs, his stay at the wicket brought confidence in the batsmen who followed. This could be gauged from the fact that four-down Akshay Sharma scored an invaluable 53 runs.

With the help of good batting by the middle order, Campion School set a respectable target of 217-run for St Joseph’s. Gaurav claimed three wickets for St Joseph’s.

Chasing the target, St Joseph’s opening pair of Rishabh Verma and Amitesh Argal gave a blistering start to the team. They stitched together a partnership of 42 for the first wicket in just seven overs. But the wickets fell like ninepins after their departure.

Gaurav resisted the fine bowling by the Campion by scoring 47 runs and raised the hopes of a victory. But the other batsmen failed and St Joseph’s lost by seven runs.

Though Campion School won the match, the sloppy fielding disappointed the skipper Arpit Chore. “We need to improve our fielding”, said Arpit. He claimed three wickets for the team.

Corporator Vandana Parihar presented the Man of the Match award to Akshay Sharma. BDCA chairman Dhruv Narayan Singh, Organising secretary Aruneshwar Singhdeo, organising president Vijesh Lunawat, Arun Tyagi, Rajiv Saxena, Rakesh Rajoriya, Dr Anoop Hajela and others were present.