Centre appoints six new secretaries | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 19, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Centre appoints six new secretaries

india Updated: May 01, 2015 01:57 IST
Mahesh Langa
Mahesh Langa
Hindustan Times

The Modi administration on Thursday appointed Kapil Dev Tripathi, a 1980 batch IAS of Assam Meghalaya cadre, as the new petroleum secretary in place of Saurabh Chandra, who superannuated. Tripathi was moved from the post of secretary public enterprises to the ministry of petroleum.

The name of SC Khuntia, special secretary in the petroleum ministry, had been in circulation along with Trpathi but he eventually lost out to the latter. “Khuntia’s name was considered but he is also from Odisha and so is the petroleum minister Dharmendra Pradhan. The government usually avoids having both the minister and the secretary from the same state,” a top official involved in the bureaucratic appointments said.

Five other secretaries were also appointed by the government following the clearance from the appointments committee of the cabinet (ACC), headed by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Sanjay Kumar Srivastav from Uttarakhand was appointed as secretary, official language, while Shyam Agarwal from Rajasthan was made secretary, national commission of scheduled tribes. Both are 1980 batch IAS officers.

Another 1980 batch IAS belonging to the Bihar cadre, Narendra Kumar Sinha was made secretary, ministry of culture. Two officers from the 1981 batch, Anoop Kumar Srivastav and Arun Jha have been made full time secretary for border management and tribal affairs respectively. Srivastav and Jha are currently special secretaries in the ministry of social justice and empowerment and department of administrative reforms and public grievances respectively.