Centre carries out first major bureaucratic rejig | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 23, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Centre carries out first major bureaucratic rejig

india Updated: Jul 14, 2014 03:35 IST
HT Correspondent
HT Correspondent
Hindustan Times
Narendra Modi

The Narendra Modi government carried out on Sunday its first major bureaucratic reshuffle, naming Uttar Pradesh chief minister Akhilesh Yadav's principal secretary, Rakesh Garg, as the new telecom secretary and Odisha chief secretary Jugal Kishore Mohapatra as the fertilizers secretary.

Mohapatra replaces Shaktikanata Das, who has been made the revenue secretary, while Garg, who has spent nearly two years in Akhilesh Yadav's office, takes charge in place of MF Farooqui, who has retired.

The government has also appointed heads of crucial departments including the department of personnel and the heavy industry department in anticipation of vacancies on retirement later this month.

Enforcement director Rajan S Katoch, a 1979-batch officer of Madhya Pradesh cadre, has been moved as heavy industries secretary. He will take over this month-end on incumbent Sutanu Behuria's retirement and hold additional charge of the directorate for six months.

Sanjay Kothari will take over from 1979-batch officer Syamal Kumar Sarkar as the new personnel secretary. Kothari is a batch senior to Sarkar and heads the department of administrative reforms.

N Ravi Shanker, a 1980-batch IAS officer of Uttarakhand cadre, will replace Kothari. Shanker is presently working as administrator, Universal Science Obligation Fund under the telecom department.

A 1980-batch UP cadre officer, Shankar Agarwal, will be the new urban development secretary. The vacancy has necessitated following superannuation of Sudhir Krishna, a 1977-batch IAS officer of Karnataka cadre.

Vinay Sheel Oberoi, a 1979 batch officer currently posted as permanent representative with the higher education department of Unesco, will replace Agarwal as the new secretary in the Ministry of Women and Child Development Sanjay Kumar Panda, a 1980-batch IAS officer of Manipur Tripura cadre, will replace Zohra Chatterjee, who retires on July 31, as the new textiles secretary.

Another IAS officer of the 1980-batch, Hara Krushan Das, who is currently with the government of Gujarat, has been appointed as secretary, Inter State Council Secretariat, under the Ministry of Home Affairs. He comes in place of Tabom Bam, who has superannuated.

IRS officer Archana Ranjan has been appointed as the special secretary-cum-Director General, Central Economic Intelligence Bureau under Department of Revenue.

Tata Tea’s Anthem of apathy
Partnered feature