Chamling takes oath for record fourth term | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 08, 2016-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Chamling takes oath for record fourth term

india Updated: May 20, 2009 14:52 IST

Highlight Story

Ruling Sikkim Democratic Front (SDF) President Pawan Kumar Chamling was on Wednesday sworn in as Chief Minister for a record fourth consecutive term along with eleven ministers.

Governor B P Singh administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 59-year-old chief minister and his ministerial colleagues at Raj Bhawan in Gangtok.

Former Speaker D N Takarpa and two women -- Tilu Gurung and Neeru Sewa were among the ministers sworn in.

Senior SDF leader and a four-time MLA, elected from Soreng Chakung assembly seat defeating former chief minister and SPCC President Nar Bahadur Bhandari, was the first member to be sworn in followed by the chief minister.

T T Bhutia, N K Pradhan, Dil Bahadur Thapa, Sonam Gyatso Lepcha, C B Karki, Dawcho Lepcha and Bhim Prasad Dhungel, were other members of the new SDF government to take the oath of office.

Of the 11 ministers, only two - Bhutia and Thapa have ministerial experience, while the rest joined the government for the first time.