Chhattisgarh assembly adjourned amid uproarious scenes over naxal attack | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 30, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Chhattisgarh assembly adjourned amid uproarious scenes over naxal attack

india Updated: Jul 20, 2009 15:00 IST
Ejaz Kaiser

As expected the Chhattisgarh legislative assembly witnessed noisy scenes on the first day of its monsoon session on Monday as the opposition Congress sought resignation from the chief minister over the recent gory naxal attack that killed 30 cops near Madanwada in Rajnandgaon.

Even before the question hour could begin, the Congress MLAs raised slogans against the Raman Singh government for its alleged failure to tackle the rising naxal menace in the state. The Congress legislators further attacked the ruling BJP government for not able to frame any effective strategy to counter the stepped-up naxal violence and demanded resignation of the chief minister. The state home minister Nankiram Kanwar was also spared by the opposition.

The Speaker Dharamlal Kaushik tried to pacify the agitated congress members and agreed to take up the issue on naxal attacks through the adjournment motion. But the opposition remained stuck to their demand which led to the uproarious scenes.

After the proceeding of the assembly was stalled twice, the chief minister Dr Raman Singh expressed his willingness for discussion on naxal issue with the opposition in the Assembly. But with the opposition adamant on their demands the Speaker adjourned the House for the day. The leader of opposition Ravindra Choubey affirmed that the Congress members will strongly adhere to their demand.

Later, Dr Singh told media persons that his government is prepared to take up the sensitive naxal issue with the Congress members but the attitude of the opposition appeared totally irresponsible.

The monsoon session is to continue till July 31, with the assembly secretariat having received 31 Adjournment Motions, 136 Call Attention Motions and 1072 questions from the members of the assembly.