Chhattisgarh records 66% voter turnout

  • HT Correspondent, Hindustan Times, Raipur
  • Updated: Apr 24, 2014 20:53 IST

Seven constituencies in the third and final phase in Chhattisgarh registered a voter turnout of 66% on Thursday.

According to chief electoral officer Sunil Kujur, around 66% of the 11.8 million voters exercised their franchise at 14,474 booths across the seven Lok Sabha segments to decide the fate of 155 candidates in the fray.

The EC monitored voting in 200 polling stations through webcast. The voter turnout figure is likely to rise, officials told HT.

The seven seats that went to polls were: Raipur, Durg, Bilaspur, Janjgir- Champa (SC), Raigarh (ST), Surguja (ST) and Korba.

Earlier, polling was held on April 10 for the Maoist-affected Bastar constituency. A week ago, three constituencies of Kanker, Rajnandgaon and Mahasamund went to polls. All three phases in the state saw peaceful voting.

Of the 11 seats in Chhattisgarh, the BJP had won 10 seats and Congress bagged just one in the 2009 general elections.

also read

Condemn ‘manhandling’ of our diplomat: Pak on India’s espionage charge
Show comments