Chinese wall for India in Azlan Shah | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Chinese wall for India in Azlan Shah

india Updated: Mar 30, 2010 22:47 IST

Defending champions India will face China in their opening match of the 19th Sultan Azlan Shah Cup International hockey tournament starting at Ipoh, Malaysia May 6.

The other countries competing in the 10-day tournament are world champions Australia, Asian champions South Korea, Pakistan, Egypt and hosts Malaysia.

It will be the Indian hockey team's first assignment after their eighth place finish at the World Cup at home. India have won the title on four occasions, in 1985, 1991, 1995 and 2009 while they were runners-up two years ago. Australia have won the championship a record five times and their last triumph came in 2007.