Cong announce poll committees | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong announce poll committees

india Updated: Sep 02, 2008 23:24 IST

The All India Congress Committee announced a 77-member election campaign committee for the Delhi polls. Congress veteran Subhash Chopra has been appointed the chairperson.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) declared its poll manifesto committee, to be headed by former Lieutenant-Governor Vijai Kapoor.

Former Delhi BJP president Om Prakash Kohli has been appointed the convenor.

Chopra’s selection is being seen by many as an indication that the party is looking at strengthening Delhi chief minister Sheila Dikshit’s hand. While Chopra was identified as a known Sheila detractor for years, his recent gravitation towards her has paid dividends.

Other known Sheila detractors like MPs Sajjan Kumar, Jagdish Tytler and MLA Ram Babu Sharma have also been granted berths in the election and campaign committee.

Party insiders say the idea is to give the impression that all stalwarts are together in ensuring a third term in office for Congress.

“People may have differences of opinions, but that should not spill over in the public domain,” said Jai Prakash Aggarwal, DPCC chairman.

Despite the show of solidarity, the schisms in the party are apparent. No party stalwarts showed up at Sunday’s rally organised by MP Sajjan Kumar at Jantar Mantar to counter the BJP’s rally on the issue of regularisation of unauthorised colonies.