Cong appoints state chiefs for Telangana, Andhra | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 29, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong appoints state chiefs for Telangana, Andhra

india Updated: Mar 12, 2014 09:39 IST
HT Correspondent

The Congress on Tuesday appointed separate state unit chiefs for Andhra Pradesh and Telangana.

Former minister Raghuvira Reddy will head the party in Seemandhra while his colleague in the Kiran Kumar Reddy government Ponnala Lakshmaiah is the Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) chief in the new state of Telangana.

Former Indian Air Force fighter pilot and ex-minister Uttam Kumar Reddy has been appointed the working president in Telangana.

The party also appointed separate election, campaign and manifesto committees for the two states.

Union minister K Chiranjeevi will head the campaign committee and former state minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy has been named as the chairman of the manifesto panel for Seemandhra.

Former AP deputy chief minister Damodar Raja Narasimha will head the campaign committee in Telangana and D Sridhar Babu is the manifesto committee chairman for the proposed state.

The announcement came after day-long consultations between Congress president Sonia Gandhi, her political secretary Ahmed Patel and party general secretary in-charge of Andhra Pradesh Digvijaya Singh.

Congress sources said outgoing PCC chief Botcha Satyanarayana is upset with the decision as he wanted to continue on the post till the Lok Sabha and assembly elections in the two states were over.