Cong gets two-third majority in Arunachal Pradesh | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 19, 2017-Thursday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong gets two-third majority in Arunachal Pradesh

india Updated: Oct 22, 2009 18:48 IST
Highlight Story

The ruling Congress stormed back to power in Arunachal Pradesh on Thursday with a two-third majority winning 39 seats and leading in three others in the 60-member state Assembly.

While Congress contested all the 60 seats, Trinamool Congress, which tested its popularity for the first time in the state by putting up candidates at 26 places, has won five seats and is leading in a seat.

The NCP, which had fielded 36 candidates, emerged victorious at six places.

Of the 39 seats won by Congress, Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu and two other party candidates were elected unopposed.

The results have been announced for 53 seats so far, with Congress getting 36 seats, BJP bagging two while the others winning four seats. The BJP had contested 18 seats.

Barring Public Health Engineering Lombo Tayeng, all ministers in the outgoing cabinet won. State Congress chief Nabam Tuki was among the winners.

The ministers who won are -- Jarbom Gamlin, Tanga Byalin, Kaliko Pul, Tako Dabi, CC Singpho, Chowna Mein, Nabam Tuki and Newlei Tingkhatra.

However, party leaders including seven time MLA in a row and former chief minister Gegong Apang, and his son Omak Apang bite the dust. While Apang senior lost to NCP, his son was humbeled by BJP.

Tsering Gyurmi, a close confidante of the chief minister, also lost to People's Party of Arunachal Pradesh candidate Phurpa Tsering. The ruling party had 34 seats in the last Assembly.