Cong-NCP coasts to victory in Maha, ministers bite dust | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong-NCP coasts to victory in Maha, ministers bite dust

india Updated: Oct 22, 2009 20:48 IST
Highlight Story

Even as the NCP-NCP coalition coasted to victory in Maharashtra, several senior ministers of the outgoing government fell by the wayside in the state Assembly polls.

Leading the winners' list was Chief Minister Ashok Chavan, also the top contender for the coveted post, who won the Bhokar assembly seat by over one-lakh votes.

He defeated his nearest rival independent candidate Madhavrao Kinhalkar by a margin of 1,07,503 votes. Chavan polled 1,20,849 votes.

However, senior ministers like NCP heavyweight Vijaysinh Mohite-Patil (Pandharpur), Surupsing Naik (Navapur), Anees Ahmed (Nagpur West), Siddhram Mhetre (Akkalkot), senior Congress leaders Rohidas Patil (Dhule Rural), Satish Chaturvedi (Nagpur east) were not lucky enough to win their seats.

The chief minister's father also represented the Bhokar assembly in the 1960's and 70's.

Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal retained his Yeola seat in Nashik district by a margin of 50,180 votes. Bhujbal polled 1,06,416 votes.

Senior Congress leader and Chief Ministerial aspirant Narayan Rane won from Kudal in Sindhudurg district by a margin of 24,162 votes, defeating his Shiv Sena rival Vaibhav Naik. Rane polled 71,764 votes.

The surprise winner was Rajendra Shekhawat of Congress from Amravati. Shekhawat, son of President Pratibha Patil, emerged victorious in a cutthroat contest with party rebel Sunil Deshmukh.

Apart from Deshmukh, BJP's Vinay Natu who raised a banner of revolt against his party after being denied ticket from Guhagar was defeated.

Sena-BJP who swapped the seats of Guhaghar and Ghatkopar west to accommodate Leader of Opposition in the outgoing Legislative Assembly Ramdas Kadam and Poonam Mahajan could not win the two seats.

The other notable wins were -- Anil Anna Gote of Lok Sangram Party from Dhule urban constituency. Gote faced imprisonment in the infamous fake stamp paper Telgi case. Similarly, Samajwadi Party leader Abu Asim Azmi won from both the Bhiwandi East and Mankhurd-Shivajinagar seats.

The first timers like Vilasrao Deshmukh's son Amit Deshmukh (Latur city), Sushilkumar Shinde's daughter Pranati Shinde (Solapur city central), Gopinath Munde's daughter Pankaja Munde-Palve (Parli), NCP heavyweight Ganesh Naik's son Sandeep Naik (Airoli), Deputy Chief Minister Chhagan Bhujbal's son Pankaj Bhujbal (Nandgaon) were elected from their respective constituencies.

Shiv Sena MP from Amravati, Anandrao Adsul's son Abhijit won from Daryapur assembly.