Cong's orissa nominees surprise many | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 25, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong's orissa nominees surprise many

india Updated: Mar 28, 2009 21:38 IST

The Congress' list of nominees in Orissa for the coming Lok Sabha polls has surprised many with former Chief Minister J B Patnaik and his wife Jayanti excluded from the list of candidates for assembly polls in the state.

Of the 16 candidates for the Lok Sabha announced by Congress on Saturday, 8 are new entrants but not freshers while the rest old horses.

From among the new candidates 3 - Narasingha Mishra, Ananta Sethi and Dhanajay Sindhu are sitting MLAs. Sethi has, however, experience in Parliament as he respresented Bhadrak seat in the 8th Lok Sabha.

The others Sanjay Bhoi, son of former MP Krupasindhu Bhoi, for Sambalpur, Amiya Mallick for Jajpur were defeated in the Lok Sabha elections. Bibhuti Bhusan Mishra, though close to J.B. Patnaik's family, had never won assembly elections though he contested several times earlier.

Mishra's name figured instead of Jayanti Patnaik, who had represented Cuttack in the past, while Prasad Harichandan will contest from Puri Lok Sabha seat in place of Pinaki Mishra.