Cong to come out clear on one-man-one-post policy in state | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 09, 2016-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong to come out clear on one-man-one-post policy in state

india Updated: Aug 04, 2013 12:27 IST
Bhawani Negi
Bhawani Negi
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Even as the issue of one-man-one-post has raised question in the state Congress, the party is all set to come out clear on those who need to comply.

Himachal Pradesh Congress Committee (HPCC) spokesperson Naresh Chauhan said chief minister Virbhadra Singh and HPCC president Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu would look into the issue in consultation with the high command to bring more clarity.

He, however, said, “We believe that cabinet ministers and chief parliamentary secretaries have to follow the one-man-one-post principle.”

Talking on the recent controversy on “The Pavilion” hotel, Dharamsala, he said, “The Congress had raised the issue and had also taken it up in its chargesheet when in opposition. When we came to power, inquiry was initiated. Now, the law would take its course and as investigations are on, those found guilty will be punished.”

The party has already geared up for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. Sukhu has assigned duties among office-bearers with immediate effect.

Various vice-presidents have been assigned duties in various segments of the four parliamentary constituencies - Kangra, Mandi, Hamirpur and Shimla - and would be assisted by other general secretaries, he added.

Kangra parliamentary constituency would be seen by vice-president AN Vidyarthi to be assisted by other general secretaries - Harbhajan Singh Bhajji and Sunder Thakur both for Kangra district - and Sunil Sharma in Chamba.

Mandi has been placed under former minister Harsh Mahajan (VP) to be assisted by three GS, Sunil Sharma for Kullu, Vinod Sultanpuri for Lahaul and Spiti and Ravi Thakur for Mandi, Kinnaur and Bharmaur.

Former MP Chander Kumar would take the responsibility of Hamirpur parliamentary constituency to be assisted by GS Ram Lal Thakur for Una, Ajay Mahajan for Bilaspur and Hamirpur and Sunil Sharma for Dharampur, Dehra and Jaswan Pragpur blocks.

Former minister Gangu Ram Musafir (VP) has been allotted responsibility of Shimla constituency to be assisted by GS Ram Lal Thakur for Shimla (rural), Harshwardhan Chauhan for Solan and Vinod Sultanpuri for Sirmaur.

Besides, Geeta Negi (VP) and Harbhajan Singh Bhajji (GS) have been allocated the responsibility of administration of HPCC meetings, executive council meetings, sessions and co-ordination.

Other party responsibilities of Sewa Dal, INTUC and departments have been assigned to Nikhil Rajour (VP), Susheela Negi (GS) and Mahila Congress, youth Congress and NSUI charge has been given to Harsh Mahajan (VP) and Harshwardhan Chauhan (GS).

Kailash Prashar (VP) and GS Vinod Sultanpuri and Naresh Chauhan will take charge of communications publicity, publications and media.