Cong too comes out with its list | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 26, 2017-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong too comes out with its list

india Updated: Apr 06, 2013 00:00 IST
HT Correspondent

Even as the Congress retained many sitting MLAs in its first list of 177 candidates for the Karnataka polls, it seems to have emphasised more on aspirants with clean image. The names for the remaining 47 seats will be out the next week.

The party has refused to give tickets to leaders like ex-minister CP Yogishwar who had ditched it and become the BJP MLA during ‘operation lotus’ by BS Yeddyurappa’s government to shore up its numbers.

The list includes key aspirants for the CM’s post like OBC leader Siddaramaiah, KPCC chief G Parameshwar, ex-MP and actor Ambarish and Krishna Byre Gowda.

Although former Karnataka CM SM Krishna met party chief Sonia Gandhi, the list has not included many of his loyalists like Kalpana Siddaraju or MS Atmananda.