Cong yes to Rau Assembly segment | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 21, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Cong yes to Rau Assembly segment

india Updated: Jan 04, 2007 17:02 IST

THE STATE Congress has proposed inclusion of Depalpur Assembly segment (Indore district) into Ujjain parliamentary constituency in its proposal for delimitation of parliamentary constituencies of Madhya Pradesh.

The Congress, however, has agreed to Delimitation Commission’s proposal to create Rau assembly segment in Indore parliamentary constituency. Similarly, it has recommended inclusion of Alot assembly segment (Ratlam district) in Ujjain parliamentary constituency.

Guna MP Jyotiraditya Scindia and Kevlari (Seoni district) MLA Harvansh Singh have submitted the proposals on behalf of Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) before the Commission at its recent meeting held in New Delhi.

Looking at the increase in population, the Commission has proposed to revise the boundaries of country’s assembly and parliamentary constituencies after 1976. This includes its proposal for changing the limitations of 230 assembly and 19 parliamentary constituencies of Madhya Pradesh. Against Commission’s proposals, state units of major political parties have placed their recommendations.

On its behalf, Congress has sought amendment in Bhopal parliamentary constituency by recommending addition of Sehore assembly segment to it. While no fresh addition has been sought in Jabalpur parliamentary constituency, major reshuffle has been recommended in Khajuraho Lok Sabha seat, the stronghold BJP bete noire Uma Bharti.

It has suggested incorporation of Tikamgarh, Jatara, Prithvipur, Niwari (SC) and Kharagpur assembly segments of Tikamgarh district. Similarly, amalgamation of three Chhatarpur district assembly constituencies, that is, Maharajpur, Chandla (SC) and Chhatarpur have been proposed in Khajuraho seat.  

The Congress has proposed inclusion of Raisen district’s Bhojpur, Sanchi and Silwani Vidhan Sabha seats in Vidisha parliamentary constituency, the stranglehold of Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan. It has also asked Commission to add Budni, Ashta and Ichchawar assembly seats (Sehore district) to Vidisha.

As for former chief minister Digvijay Singh’s assembly constituency Raghogarh (Guna district), the Congress has suggested its inclusion in Rajgarh Lok Sabha segment in addition to Chachaura assembly constituency. Insertion of Shajapur district’s Sunser assembly segment has also been suggested in Rajgarh.

Dewas parliamentary seat may witness a major shake up if Congress would have its way, as it has offered to add Agar (SC), Shajapur, Shujalpur, Kalapipal assembly seats of Shajapur district in it.

A similar reshuffle has been proposed in Nimar, where assembly segments of Bagli (Dewas district), Nepanagar, Burhanpur have been projected for inclusion in Khandwa Lok Sabha seat while Sendhwa, Rajpur, Pansemal and Barwani seats (all Barwani district) have been suggested for Khargone parliamentary constituency.

While submitting these proposals, PCC has insisted that Commission should revise the boundaries of assembly seats before touching Lok Sabha constituencies.

“We’ve apprised the Commission about it. Along with Congress, BJP also wants that it should first fix Vidhan Sabha boundaries,” PCC vice-president Radhakishen Garg informed over phone from Bhopal.