Congress in Chitradurga facing rebellion | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Apr 24, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress in Chitradurga facing rebellion

india Updated: Apr 26, 2008 19:19 IST

The Chitradurga District Congress unit is facing rebellion after several aspirants were denied tickets to contest to the May assembly polls.

The party has announced the list of candidates for all the six constituencies in the district. Molkalmuru and Hosadurga constituencies are the two only constituencies where there has been no dispute with tickets having been issued to former MLAs N Y Gopala Krishana and B G Govindappa.

However, dissidence is palpable in Chitradurga, Hiriyur, Holalkere and Challakere constituencies. In these constituencies, the party has given tickets to former MLA G H Thippareddy, the Zilla Panchayat President Geetha Nandini Gowda, the Youth Congress President, B Thippeswamy and film actor Shashikumar Nayak respectively.

There is stiff competition in Hiriyur constituency as many senior leaders, A V Umapati, the former Challakere MLA D Sudharkar, the former M P Kodandaramaiah and the Congress district President, R Manjunath were in the race.

In Chitradurga Congress leader, M K Tajpee who was the apirant, has warned that he will campaign against the party if it failed to give ticket to minorities.

But after the announcement of the party ticket to Gowda, Sudakar, Umapati and Manujanth, are now in a dejected mood. Expressing their ire.