Congress wins by-polls in Manipur | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 17, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress wins by-polls in Manipur

india Updated: Jun 05, 2007 23:02 IST

Highlight Story

Manipur's ruling coalition partner Congress party on Tuesday won both the assembly seats for which by-elections were held last week, securing a simple majority in the 60-member state legislature.

The Congress has now 31 members in the assembly as its candidate Thokchom Lokeshore Singh won from the Khundrakpam constituency in Imphal East district while O Landhoni Devi, wife of Chief Minister Okram Ibobi Singh, bagged the Khnagabok seat in Thoubal district.

By-polls for the Khundrakpam seat was necessitated due to the death of sitting Nationalist Congress Party legislator Th Navakumar Singh, while the chief minister - who won from two assembly constituencies - vacated the Khangabok seat.

The Congress-led Secular Progressive Front government, including the Communist Party of India, now has 35 legislators.