Congress wins Manipur by-poll | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 28, 2017-Tuesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress wins Manipur by-poll

india Updated: Oct 20, 2014 11:50 IST
Sobhapati Samom

Continuing its good show from the last assembly polls and subsequent Lok Sabha elections, the Congress party on Monday won the by-election to the prestigious Hiyanglam assembly seat in Manipur.

According to district information officer Ch Noyon Singh in Thoubal district headquarters, 30 km south of Imphal, Congress candidate E Dwijamani beat his nearest rival Y Radheshyam of All India Trinamool Congress by 1,835 votes in the October 17 by-poll. Dwijamani polled 9,008 votes and Radheshyam 7,173 votes.

Dwijamani, who was elected as an MLA from Hiyanglam in 2007 assembly election by defeating M Kunjo of Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) by a margin of 385 votes, had contested unsuccessfully from the constituency in 2012 elections as he lost to Kunjo by just 17 votes.

Kunjo's son Maibam Dhanabir of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) was placed third with 6,306 votes while Manipur People's Party (MPP) candidate M Amutombi got 615 votes. The MPP candidate was followed by Manipur State Congress Party's Th Laiba with 93 votes.

Sources from the counting centre also revealed that 46 voters opted for None of the Above Option (NOTA).

The Hiyanglam by-election was held following the sudden demise of sitting Trinamool MLA Maibam Kunjo on August 11 this year.

With Dwijamani winning from the constituency, Congress has 48 MLAs now in the 60-member assembly, while Opposition Trinamool has 6 legislators, Naga People's Front 4. The NCP and Lok Janshakti Party has one legislator each.