Congress wins Meghalaya by-poll | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Mar 24, 2017-Friday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Congress wins Meghalaya by-poll

india Updated: Aug 21, 2009 12:43 IST

Congress nominee and Meghalaya Education Minister Ampareen Lyngdoh on Friday won the by-poll to Laitumkhrah constituency defeating the United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate Malcolm Tariang by a margin of 2,327 votes.

Lyngdoh polled 5,800 votes, while Tariang bagged 3,473 votes. The lone women legislator increased her winning margin from 1,593 in the 2008 assembly elections to 2,327 this time.

In 2008, Lyngdoh, then a member of the UDP, had defeated Tariang who had contested as independent candidate.

The four other candidates - Stephen Nongbet (BJP), Remeo Phira Rani (Hill State Peoples Democratic Party) and two Independents, George Garry Lyngdoh and Andrew Aibok Jyrwa, forfeited their security deposit.

"I won despite personal attacks by my opponents. I must say they are yet to learn the game (of politics)," Lyngdoh said after emerging victorious.

She was under attack by her opponents who branded her as a "betrayer" after she resigned from the UDP and the Assembly on March 31 before joining Congress, necessitating the by-poll.

Laitumkhrah constituency has always been considered as the strong hold of Lyngdoh family. Before Ampareen, the seat was represented by her brother Robert G Lyngdoh and their father late PG Marbaniang.