Counting of votes in 42 LS, 294 assembly seats in AP begins | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Feb 20, 2017-Monday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

Counting of votes in 42 LS, 294 assembly seats in AP begins

india Updated: May 16, 2014 09:05 IST
Lok Sabha

Counting for 42 Lok Sabha and 294 Assembly seats in undivided Andhra Pradesh began on Friday, as Telangana and Seemandhra regions are all set to get their respective governments soon.

The two-phase polls held in Telangana on April 30 and Seemandhra (collectively known as Andhra and Rayalasema) on May 7 were the last elections in the undivided Andhra Pradesh. Telangana, with ten districts, would be formally born as India's 29th state on June 2.

The outcome of counting is set to redefine broad political contours in both the regions. Unified Andhra Pradesh has seen successive Congress governments.

Winning candidates would become members of respective first legislative assemblies of residuary Andhra Pradesh and Telangana, a certainly emotional moment for many.

Bitter campaigning marked the run-up to polls between principal contenders — the Congress and the TRS in Telangana — and the TDP-BJP combine and the YSR Congress Party in Seemandhra (residuary Andhra Pradesh).

The Congress, which had won 33 of total 42 Lok Sabha seats in 2009 polls has seemingly ceded the ground in Seemandhra as the public anger is directed towards the party for dividing Andhra Pradesh.

Prominent candidates in the fray are YSR Congress Party president YS Jaganmohan Reddy (Pulivendula assembly seat), TRS chief K Chandrasekhar Rao, Union ministers MM Pallam Raju, V Kishore Chandra Deo, Panabaka Lakshmi, Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy and S Jaipal Reddy (all from the Congress) and D Purandeswari (BJP).