CPM man quits post over nomination | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Dec 07, 2016-Wednesday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CPM man quits post over nomination

india Updated: Apr 03, 2011 14:27 IST
Sukumar Debnath
Sukumar Debnath
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story

Ananda Kumar Biswas, sitting CPI(M) MLA of Bishnupur East Assembly constituency in South 24-Parganas, has resigned from the party in protest against the decision to field an outsider in the constituency.

Biswas, a district committee member and a zonal committee secretary, who first became MLA in 1996, has been denied a ticket this time. He is waiting for the party's decision before he quits as legislator also. "It is for the party to decide and I have nothing more to comment at this moment," said Biswas when contacted by HT.

The CPI(M) has nominated Sudhin Sinha, who is a resident of Matherdighi, which is about 50 km away from Bishnupur. Biswas has refused to accept the party's decision, which amounts to the CPI(M) affirming that there is not a single suitable candidate from the 1,43,000 scheduled caste voters in Bishnupur constituency. After delimitation the Bishnupur East and Bishnupur West seats have ceased to exist. Instead, there is now a single reserved seat of Bishnupur.

Biswas has sent his letter of resignation in the last week of March, pointing out the whimsical ways of the party in the district. CPI(M) and its allies have denied tickets to 9 sitting MLAs. One of these nine MLAs is from the RSP, while eight are from CPI(M). An advocate by training, Biswas won from the Bishnupur (East) constituency twice in 1996 and 2006. He also worked as the karmadhyaksha (electricity) in South 24-Parganas zilla parishad.

Biswas's step adds credence to allegations of grievances within the party ranks circulating in various districts. Much of the grievance stems from the party's decision to deny tickets to about 100 sitting MLAs, including nine ministers for the 2011 Assembly elections.

In the district, Biswas is known to have a bitter relations with land and land reforms minister Abdur Rezzak Mollah. He was also known as a follower of district secretary Sujan Chakraborty.

It is alleged that Chakraborty did nothing to address Biswas' grievances, which he mentioned in his letter. Not suprisingly, Chakraborty is of the opinion that the best possible candidates have been selected. The district secretary also is confident of a victory in all seats in South 24- Parganas.

Biswas has also alleged that top leaders are promoting factionalism, which is making it difficult to run the party. Sources claimed Biswas started opposing the party leadership since the 2007 district conference.

Biswas has criticised the party's decision to ignore the qualified and educated electorate of the constituency that now has an urban character.

South 24-Parganas is one of the two districts where the first waves of change knocked the CPI(M) out of the zilla parishad in the 2008 panchayat elections.