CPM set for second round of internal reshuffle | india | Hindustan Times
Today in New Delhi, India
Jan 22, 2017-Sunday
New Delhi
  • Humidity
  • Wind

CPM set for second round of internal reshuffle

india Updated: May 02, 2015 19:14 IST
Saubhadra Chatterji
Saubhadra Chatterji
Hindustan Times
Highlight Story


After its much-awaited revamp last month, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) is headed for its next leg of key restructuring: reshuffle of organizational responsibilities among its senior leaders.

The CPI(M) politburo, which will meet on May 16 and 17, is set to distribute key responsibilities that includes looking after frontal organizations like SFI or All India Kishan Sabha and states, among the party’s senior leadership.

“The exercise will be the next step and an important one to pursue our goal of reviving the party. We have set our policies, now we have to put right people in the right assignments,” said a senior leader.

The ensuing politburo meeting will also be the first after the CPI(M)’s Party Congress in Vishakhapatanam in mid-April.

While some leaders refused to speculate on who will get what charges, younger leaders are likely to be given heavier assignments amid the thrust of the party to attract the younger population. The party has its task cut out to revive its base in West Bengal and also prepare for the upcoming assembly elections in Kerala, Bengal, Tamil Nadu and Assam next year.

Under the previos regime, Prakash Karat, the former general secretary was holding the charge of Uttar Pradesh and Punjab while Sitaram Yechury, the newly-elected party chief, was in-charge of the party’s student’s wing SFI and Maharashtra. Among other politburo members, Brinda Karat was in-charge of Jharkhand and Tribal issues, MA Baby oversaw DYFI, the youth front and SR Pillai looked after the farmer’s cell along with Bihar.

West Bengal and Kerala, the two bastions of the CPI(M), were handled by local senior leaders. Biman Bose and Suryakanta Mishra was in-charge of Bengal while leaders like Kodiyari Balakrishnan and Pinarai Vijayan looked after their home state.

Last month, Sitaram Yechury was unanimously elected as the general secretary of the party, ending a decade-long regime of Karat.